Robin Williams: “To Die Would Be a Grand Adventure!”

williams

Source: Tristar Pictures

“To Die Would Be a Grand Adventure!”- Robin Williams in Hook

Today at the age of 63, Robin Williams, an actor and comedian who helped shape my childhood passed away. It is with the heaviest heart that I break my blog silence and come to my readers with a heartfelt stroll down memory lane, in honor of one of my favorite artists. I type these words while fighting back, a losing battle, with hot tears.

As a child, I watched Aladdin more times than my parents would like to recall. All lined in the front row below my television was my movie collection and it was jam packed with VHS tapes that Mr. Williams had been a part of. To name a few off the top of my head, there was Jumanji, Hook, and Mrs. Doubtfire. My personal favorite being Ferngully! We also owned Flubber, but we won’t dwell on it.

As the hand of both age and grace moved the clock forward for me, there were whole new worlds of comedy and movies to enjoy attached to Robin Williams’ name.

Source: Sean MacQueen

Source: Sean MacQueen

I Never Imagined He’d Die So Young

His roles have incited a plethora of intense emotions from his audiences. Good Will Hunting is undoubtedly one of the greatest films of our time, I don’t care what anyone says. Scenes in World’s Greatest Dad had me bawling almost as much as I had been the moment I heard Williams had taken his own life. Dead Poets Society hands down changed my outlook as a poet and writer. If not for its message, for the poetry it showcased which got me through so many college English classes!

It feels like I nearly never stopped thinking about Robin Williams in passing, either. I don’t think I ever will. I watch a movie with him in it, often times a starring role, about once a month. Last month, if you were curious, was Bicentennial Man. For the past couple weeks I had been begging my boyfriend to sit down and watch Hook with me, but there are always movies we haven’t yet seen getting in the way. I don’t even want to hear it from him next time. I need someone to hold me as the emotional waves crash against my insides.

Oddly enough, I know so many anecdotes about Mr. Williams. It isn’t uncommon within my circle to joke about how outlandishly hairy he was, to talk about how he named his daughter after Princess Zelda, or to discuss the toll alcohol had taken on his life. Example? Did you know that the entire fart conversation in Good Will Hunting wasn’t in the script? No, Robin Williams ad libbed it. He was always known for his flare and talent. It shows in the enormous amount of iconic roles and moments he has created for our memories.

Source: USA Today

Source: USA Today

My thoughts and love is dedicated especially to Robin Williams’ family. His daughter Zelda just celebrated her 25th year, and his wife has come out publicly to ask for time and space for grieving. I hope this post isn’t overstepping that boundary. My heart swells with grief and letting it out into the world somehow relieves the pain. I loved Robin Williams, and looked forward to seeing him sculpt more roles and deliver more laughter. At least he leaves behind a legacy that rivals that of the greatest before him.

To say that this post could encompass even an eighth of Robin Williams genius, career, and talent would be an insult to his legacy. This is a personal outcry to share with anyone willing to listen how much the man who once played the greatest Peter Pan (among many others) has influenced me personally. We all loved Robin Williams. I have no doubt.

Source: My Broken Heart

2 thoughts on “Robin Williams: “To Die Would Be a Grand Adventure!”

    • Thanks, I’m sorry I haven’t gotten around to replying sooner. I half was nervous to see what someone said about this emotional piece. But I am glad you reached out. Robin Williams was amazing, in the literal sense of the word. He definitely made the world a more interesting and more entertaining place. Thanks for stopping by and leaving an encouraging comment.

Leave a Reply

